Forget Shea Weber: Jeff Petry or P.K. Subban?

It’s funny how time changes things. As we arrive into Fall season, leaves are changing colours, days are shorter, nights are crisper. Every living creature is getting set for the long months of Winter. Hockey fans? Well, they’re hockey fans and they too change. At least, most do. As they watch the COVID Cups Finals between the Dallas Stars and the Tampa Bay Lightning, most fans of the Montreal Canadiens are excited to see what team GM Marc Bergevin will do next. Although it hasn’t always been the case…

Continue reading “Forget Shea Weber: Jeff Petry or P.K. Subban?”

Norris Trophy: Is the PHWA Missing The Point?

There was a time when the Norris Trophy was awarded as it should be, but this hasn’t held true for several years now. The NHL’s definition (or description) of the The James Norris Memorial Trophy is rather clear: an annual award given “to the defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position.” But with their votes, the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA) seems to have changed this to the best offensive defenseman. The first example of that is when they awarded it to former Edmonton Oilers Paul Coffey, who was basically an offensive forward playing defense… and it showed in his own zone.

Continue reading “Norris Trophy: Is the PHWA Missing The Point?”